Module 4: Summative Blog Post

After reading other blog posts this week I believe my peers and I have similar viewpoints. I believe it is possible to build this “cultural commons” in new media. One commenter mentioned YouTube as a means of cultural identity (where the consumer is the ultimate producer). I found this particularly interesting and never really thought about it before. I think videos and posts are put online to target specific audiences. In the end, both consumers and producers are in control. I believe copyright laws are essential to creativity. However, remixing an existing video to recreate seems to be an acceptable practice, as long as the final product is not the same message as the original production. There are many videos, which attempt to do this, and I enjoy them. I think there should be some freedom with remixing and original production. I mean as long as some credit is given?

As for me recreating original content, I thought I did not quite partake in this. However, I post video links and photos on social media sites. So I am definitely a consumer and producer. As one commenter mentioned, me writing this blog is essentially producing online content. I have to be aware that I properly source photos and outside text while still trying to remain original in my words.

In the end, I believe the Internet ought to remain a free identity, which is controlled by producers and consumers. Indeed, there is currently a marketization of culture with new media and regulatory and policing measures are being introduced and implemented. Big media should not restrict people from cultural creativity online. However, I understand certain laws and restrictions. People ought to own the rights to their intellectual property. However, if one wants to recreate this property, then it should and can be done in a way that respects all parties. When it comes to big conglomerates they ought to stay “out of the way” because then it seems biased and economically driven. Today, consumers of new media ought to be smart and consider the laws online as well as their own individual work.

https://genderedpolitics.wordpress.com/2013/06/05/new-big-media/#comments

Leave a Reply

