New BIG Media

 Image

     I believe nowadays almost everyone is engaged in some type of media. I agree with Jenkins that new consumers are more “socially connected” (Jenkins, 2004,38). Personally, media consumes me and I am okay with it. Besides social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram) I find myself more of a consumer of new media rather than producer. I enjoy watching You Tube videos frequently. I visit webpages and blogs as well as read news articles online. When it comes to producing content I prefer to leave that up to others. It would be odd for me to post a video of myself, however I am so eager to post photos on Facebook. I enjoy new media and am an active consumer of it.

      This weeks readings were quite interesting. I found some reoccurring themes, which I will explore with regards to new media. These were neoliberalism (new economy), globalization and media conglomerates. “People who own ideas have become more powerful than people who work machines and, in many cases, more powerful than people who own machines”-UK analyst John Howkins (Miller, 2004,59) . I think this quote is relevant and relates to the idea of producers/consumers as well as cultural creativity. In today’s society many “big shots” are owners of their own creations. These people also want to have full rights to this, rightfully so? Miller (2004) interestingly notes that the world’s cultural structures are dominated by nine corporations (Miller,2004,60). For one instance we think that there are all these creative minds producing new media and products globally, however are all categorized under these conglomerates. This is where Jenkins’ (2004) paradox comes in where new media technologies are expanding the range of delivery, however there is a large concentration of the ownership of media (Jenkins, 2004, 33). The media conglomerates are certainly connected with globalization. We live in a global world where everything is somewhat connected especially in media. However, how does one dismantle these conglomerates? Well we don’t. In the era of neoliberal policies, new media will remain with self-regulation. Yes, this may seem problematic. As a media consuming society we will lose the ability to have any true influence over the directions that our culture takes if we do not find ways to participate in active dialogue with media industries (Jenkins, 2004,42).In turn, we ought to be more socially constructive of these new medias.

     With copyright laws and media restrictions, consumers might find it more difficult to express online. Perhaps these restrictions are good. However who will set these policies? If we leave this to big media corporations then all new media self-interests will prevail on a global scale. However, these copyright laws are essential for cultural creativity. As consumers of this media perhaps we should question authorities. However, with such a large space for new media this seems difficult. 

References

Jenkins, H. (2004) The Cultural Logic of Media Convergence  International Journal of Cultural Studies March 2004 7: 33-43

Miller, T. (2004) A view from a fossil. International Journal Of Cultural Studies, 7(1), 55-65. 

Photo From: http://blog.clickhere.com/2012/content-first-device-second/new-media-environment/

 

5 thoughts on “New BIG Media

  1. I agree with you on the fact that we are more consumers of new media rather than producers. Asides from the ones you mentioned Facebook, Twitter, Instagram I would also consider this blog or any blog sites such as Tumblr or even reddit would put us in the position of the producer. However like you I stand on the side lines when it comes to expressing opinions whether it be on youtube or other social media website. However I think that it would change alot if we were not just the active consumer of the media. When you mention copyright laws and media restrictions I think that consumers do not often hold back due to that seeing youtube is full of videos that are technicially breaking copyright laws.

  2. To me, cultural identity is more prevalent in the new media, where the idea of culture and community can be portrayed by those directly involved in the culture, as opposed to mainstream media which tends to be looking in on the culture/community from the outside. Jenkins (2004) touches on this in his article and discusses where copyright laws fit with mainstream media and with intellectual property rights. We see social media sites like YouTube as a means of cultural identity (where the consumer is the ultimate producer). The idea of remixing existing video to recreate or repurpose it seems to be an acceptable practice, so long as the final product is not the same message as the original production.

  3. In your blog post you stated that you are more of a consumer than a producer. I think it would be interesting if you discussed the ways in which you produce online in your summative posting. For example, by having a blog for this course, you are essentially producing online content. Also, by posting your thoughts on public forums such as Facebook and Twitter, you are also producing. Just a thought 🙂

  4. Pingback: Module 4: Summative Blog Post | gendered politics

  5. I share your thoughts about big media. I get afraid that I am not really thinking for myself. I really wonder how we can combat this. I think we need to be aware about how media functions from a marketing standpoint and keep up to date with real goings on. I agree I am also more of a consumer and I think as one it is our responsibilit1

Leave a Reply

